The rallying cry of the disability rights movement has long been, “Nothing about us without us.” This means that decisions about the policies, services, and other initiatives regarding people with disabilities must necessarily be made by people with disabilities.

This principle is the basis of the ADA Legacy Project.


  • Joyce A. Bender – CEO, Bender Consulting Services, Inc.
  • Kelly Buckland – Executive Director, National Council on Independent Living
  • Deidre Davis – Attorney and CEO, DYSability Dynamics
  • Merrill Friedman – Director, Disability Policy Engagement, Wellpoint
  • Bill Gaventa – Summer Institute on Theology and Disability; Editor, Gleanings; National Collaborative on Faith and Disability
  • Sandy Hanebrink – Executive Director, SignAids.com/Touch the Future
  • Susan Henderson – Executive Director, Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund
  • Jill Houghton – Executive Director, U.S. Business Leadership Network
  • Andy Imparato – Executive Director, Association of University Centers on Disabilities
  • Marsha Katz – Organizational Consultant, Rural Institute, University of Montana
  • John Kemp – Executive Director, Viscardi Center
  • Robin Jones – The ADA National Network
  • Anil Lewis – Deputy Executive Director, National Federation of the Blind
  • Christina Mills – Deputy Director, California Foundation for Independent Living Centers and Youth Organizing! Disabled and Proud
  • David Morrissey – Executive Director, United States International Council on Disabilities
  • Stephanie Thomas – ADAPT
  • Colleen Wieck – Executive Director, Minnesota Governor’s Council on Developmental Disabilities


  • Kim Brussell – Director, Development & External Relations, The Viscardi Center
  • Katherine Ott – Smithsonian Institution, Division of Medicine and Science
    Sarah Triano

Fiscal Agent

  • National Council on Independent Living

ADA25 Celebrity Ambassadors

  • Danny Woodburn

Work Groups

  • Preservation Work Group
  • Celebration Work Group (with ADA Legacy Tour Team)
  • Education Work Group

(Note: if you are interested in joining a workgroup or team, please contact Kristen Vincent)

Project Team

  • Holly Colsher – Donor and Partner Relations
  • Caitlin Cutt – Communications
  • Carol Jones – Community Outreach
  • Tari Hartman Squire – Communications
  • Kristen Vincent – Project Coordinator
  • Tim Wheat – Photo Gallery and Web Development
  • Dan Wilkins – Graphic Design and Merchandise

ADA25 Team

  • ADA National Network Centers (contact your local center)

ADA Legacy Tour Team

  • Janine Bertram – Tour requests for after July 2015
  • Dave Fulton – Tour budget and copilots
  • Tom Olin – Tour driver and star
  • Joy Weeber – Daily Activites Coordinator
  • Local Host Groups – plans and information about local Tour stops

Museum on Wheels Team

  • Andrew Houghton – Coordinator
  • Content: Alice Elliott Welcome Change;
  • Alison Gilkey and Eric Neudel – Storyline Motion Pictures;
  • Colleen Wieck – Minnesota Governor’s Council on Developmental Disabilities;
  • Doug Platt – Museum of disABILITY History;
  • Mat Darby – Richard B. Russell Museum, University of Georgia;
  • Steve Brown – Disability Culture Institute;
  • TJ Neuville – Millersville University;